EDC platform review
OpenClinica review
OpenClinica is an electronic data capture platform offered as a cloud-hosted Enterprise subscription with optional eCOA, eConsent and randomisation modules, and as a free open-source Community Edition. It is used by sponsors, CROs, academic institutions and non-profits running clinical studies.
- Our score
- 7.7/10
- Best for
- Small to mid studies wanting published prices or open-source software
- Pricing
- Per-study monthly subscription with add-on modules; free open-source Community Edition
- Vendor
- OpenClinica, LLC, Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Unique feature
Open-source Community Edition
Alongside its cloud product, OpenClinica offers a free Community Edition under the LGPL licence; the vendor states it is not validated, has no dedicated support and must be hosted on your own server.
Fit
Who OpenClinica suits
Best for
- Small studies wanting a published monthly price (Launch plan: up to 150 participants, 3 sites)
- Sponsors or CROs running several concurrent studies
- Institutions with IT staff able to self-host the open-source edition
Less suited to
- Regulated trials on the Community Edition, which the vendor lists as not validated
- Teams without IT resource wanting a free option, as Community must be self-hosted
- Studies needing randomisation on the entry Launch plan, where it is not a listed add-on
Features
Key features
What the vendor documents publicly, checked against its own pages. “Not stated” means we could not confirm it, not that it is missing.
✓ Yes◐ Partly+ Add-on– No? Not stated
- ✓Vendor builds your databaseExpert-managed study build included in Core, Advanced and Enterprise plans
- ✓Build forms yourselfDrag-and-drop study designer (OC4 Enterprise); basic forms in Community
- ✓Audit trailAudit trail listed; Reason for Change in all editions
- ✓Electronic signaturesInvestigators apply electronic signatures to participant records
- ✓Edit checks at data entryReal-time and cross-form edit checks in OC4
- ✓Queries and source data verificationQueries fire on unresolved edit checks; SDV data in reporting
- +RandomisationEnterprise module with blinding and stratification; not in Community
- +ePRO and participant self-entryeCOA module for diaries and surveys on any device
- +eConsenteConsent module, sold separately or in Advanced/Enterprise plans
- ✓Offline mobile data collectionVendor lists offline capture for Enterprise ePRO/eCOA
- ✓Forms in several languagesForm translations; languages enabled by Customer Support
- ✓CDISC export (ODM / SDTM)CDISC ODM dataset export and ODM XML API
- ✓Built-in reports and dashboardsInteractive visual reports and custom dashboards (Enterprise)
- ?Built-in statistical analysisExports to SPSS and SAS formats
- ?Numbered tables, figures and listings
- ✓APIBasic API in Community/OC3, enhanced in OC4
- ✓Free or open-source optionOpen-source Community Edition (LGPL), self-hosted; 30-day trial on Launch
Verdict
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- Published monthly prices for Launch, Core and Advanced plans
- Free open-source Community Edition for self-hosting
- CDISC ODM-based exports and API
Limitations
- Community Edition is not validated and has no dedicated support
- ePRO, eConsent and randomisation are paid add-on modules
- Launch plan limited to 150 participants and 3 sites
Details
Pricing, hosting and regulation
Pricing
Per-study monthly subscription with add-on modules; free open-source Community Edition. Published prices: Launch (EDC only) $750/month, no annual contract, up to 150 participants and 3 sites; Core $3,000/month per study (12-month contract); Advanced $3,750/month per study (12-month contract, one add-on module); Enterprise & Academic custom. Services $275-$350/hour.. Pricing source.
Hosting and security
Hosting regions: US, UK and EU (Enterprise cloud). Enterprise is vendor cloud-hosted; Community Edition must be hosted on your own server.
Certifications: SOC 2 examination report, 2023 (vendor; Type not stated).
Regulatory support
Vendor states Enterprise is "Compliant with 21 CFR Part 11, ICH GCP, Annex 11, HIPAA, GDPR"; Community "Not validated".. Whatever the software offers, your own procedures, validation and training are still needed for a regulated study.
Scale and set-up
Vendor states it has powered over 15,000 studies and supported more than three million patients, with studies from 20 to 200,000 patients.. Vendor claims studies can launch "in 2-3 weeks instead of 3-6 months". Self-build in the study designer or expert-managed build included in higher plans..
Alternatives
Alternatives to OpenClinica
ResearchGuru EDC
Teams that want the database built for them, with TFLs and analysis included.
Score 8.6/10 · Unique feature: EDC, automated TFLs and automated analysis in one platform
Castor EDC
Self-built academic and MedTech studies, with UK, EU, US or Australian hosting.
Score 7.5/10 · Unique feature: Choice of EU, UK, US or Australian hosting
REDCap
Academic studies at institutions that already run REDCap.
Score 7.1/10 · Unique feature: Free licence through a global non-profit consortium
- OpenClinica pricing
- OpenClinica: Community, OC3, and OC4 - What's the Difference?
- OpenClinica: Free Community Edition Software
- OpenClinica FAQs
- The OpenClinica Cloud
- OpenClinica SOC 2 report announcement
- OpenClinica docs: Language Support
- OpenClinica docs: Formats for Dataset Files
- OpenClinica docs: e-Sign Participant Records
- Capterra UK: OpenClinica listing
- OpenClinica Community Edition